Internal Market

Internal Market Affairs

The European Economic Area (EEA) unites the 28 EU Member States and three participating EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) in an internal market governed by the same basic rules. These rules aim to enable goods, services, capital and persons to move freely across the EEA in an open and competitive environment. 

One of the main tasks of ESA is to monitor the EFTA States' obligations to incorporate internal market rules into their domestic law, and to apply the rules correctly.

Developing the European internal market is about removing barriers to trade and red tape to enable everyone across the EEA - individuals, consumers and businesses - to make the most of the opportunities offered to them by having direct access to 31 countries and 500 million people.

The cornerstones of the single market are often said to be the “four freedoms” - the free movement of persons, goods, services and capital. These freedoms are enshrined in the EEA Agreement and form the basis of the single market framework. In practice they mean that individuals have a right to live, work, study or retire in any EEA country; consumers benefit from increased competition leading to lower prices, a wider choice of products to buy and higher levels of consumer protection; and businesses are able to do business across borders more easily and cheaply.

Read more

Veterinary inspections

The Authority regularly preform on-the-spot inspections to ensure that the EFTA Countries apply EEA legislation correctly within the field of food and feed safety, animal health and welfare. Findings are published in reports by the Authority

Read more

Internal Market Scoreboard

Twice yearly ESA publishes the Internal Market Scoreboard. The Scoreboard keeps track of implementation by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway of internal market directives.

Read more

Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS