Browse by year:


PR(93)02: EFTA Surveillance Authority and EFTA court take up work as EEA Agreement enters into force


Members of Surveillance Authority and EFTA Judges officially take office at ceremony in Geneva on 4 January 1994

Following the entry into force of the EEA-Agreement on 1 January 1994, the first formal sitting of the EFTA Court in Geneva on 4 January will include a ceremony where the five Judges - one from each EFTA State participating in the EEA - will take their oath and the five Members of the EFTA Surveillance Authority (based in Brussels) will give their solemn declarations. On the side of the five EFTA States participating in the EEA, the EFTA Surveillance Authority will have the same powers and similar functions to those of the European Commission. The jurisdiction of the EFTA Court will correspond to that of the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Knut Almestad, President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority, and the President of the EFTA Court will be at the disposal of journalists at about 16.00 hrs.

If you are planning to attend, it would be helpful if you could let Peter Rodney or Rosaleen Nassif know on (0041/22) 709 09 11 (EFTA Court). Out of hours 348 90 70.

Please see the attached information on the EFTA Surveillance Authority and the EFTA Court.

Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS