Browse by year:


PR(03)41: The EFTA Surveillance Authority changes presidency


In accordance with Article 12 of the Surveillance and Court Agreement[1], the Governments of the EFTA States have by common accord appointed Hannes Hafstein President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority for a period of two years from 1 January 2004. Mr. Hafstein has been serving the Authority as a College Member since 1997.

Today, the College also decided upon a new allocation of portfolios between its members, which takes effect from the same date.

Hannes Hafstein

Einar M. Bull

Bernd Hammermann

Co-ordination and general policies

External relations

Legal & Executive Affairs



State aid

Public Undertakings


Free movement of goods, persons, services and capital

Horizontal provisions

For further information, please contact Mr. Niels Fenger, Director of Legal and Executive Affairs, tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 30.

[1]Agreement between the EFTA States on the establishment  of a Surveillance Authority and a Court of Justice.
[2]With the exception of Article 16 of the EEA Agreement.

The Authority would like to wish everyone
a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

19 December 2003

Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS