Browse by year:


PR(06)35: Norwegian regional aid map authorized by the EFTA Surveillance Authority for the period from 2007 to 2013


The EFTA Surveillance Authority has today approved the new map of areas eligible for regional investment aid proposed by the Norwegian Government. The new map is defined with reference to the new State Aid Guidelines on National Regional Aid 2007 – 2013 adopted by the Authority on 6 April 2006. The map of assisted areas has been authorized for the period of 1 January 2007 to 31 December 2013.

The assisted areas in Norway cover 27.5% of the total population and qualify for regional investment aid because they are low population density regions (i.e. less than 12.5 inhabitants per square kilometre).

The counties of Finnmark, Troms, Nordland and Sogn og Fjordane are eligible in their entirety. Moreover, parts of the counties of Østfold, Hedmark, Oppland, Buskerud, Telemark, Aust-Agder, Vest-Agder, Rogaland, Horadaland, Møre og Romsdal, Sør- Trøndelag, Nord- Trøndelag are included in the map of assisted areas. A more detailed overview of the geographical scope of the assisted areas may be seen from the list attached.

Aid can be granted up to 15% of investment costs for large enterprises, with possible top-ups of 10% for medium-sized enterprises and 20% for small enterprises[1].

Approval of the regional aid map is not an authorization of aid as such. It is the responsibility of the Norwegian authorities to decide what kind of regional investment aid they would grant and to notify aid schemes or individual aid grants to the Authority as appropriate.

For further information, please contact:
Mr. Amund Utne, Director, Competition & State Aid Directorate
Tel. (+32)(0)2 286 1850 or
Ms. Marianne Clayton
Officer, Competition & State Aid Directorate
Tel. (+32)(0)2 286 1823

19 July 2006

[1] A medium-sized enterprise employs fewer than 250 persons whereas a small enterprise employs fewer than 50 persons. Other considerations regarding the level of the annual turnover/balance sheet must also be taken into consideration in order to determine whether an undertaking may be categorized as a small or medium-sized enterprise.



Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS