Browse by year:


PR(06)18: The EFTA Surveillance Authority adopts new Regional Aid Guidelines for 2007 - 2013


The EFTA Surveillance Authority has adopted new guidelines on national regional aid corresponding to similar guidelines adopted by the European Commission[1].

These guidelines will apply from 1 January 2007 until the end of 2013. The aim of the guidelines is to further the economic development of disadvantaged regions with low population density through investment and job creation. The guidelines establish the legal basis for granting regional investment aid as well as operating aid in certain disadvantaged areas.

For regional investment aid, the guidelines provide that aid may be granted to firms in regions representing up to a maximum of 29.08% of the population in Norway and 31.6% of the population in Iceland.

The Authority has by letters of 6 April 2006 proposed as appropriate measures to the EFTA States that existing schemes must be brought in conformity with the new guidelines by 1 January 2007. The EFTA States are asked to communicate such an acceptance within one month. The acceptance will be published in the EEA Section of and the EEA Supplement to the Official journal of the European Union.

For further information, please contact:
Mr. Amund Utne
Director, Competition & State Aid Directorate
Tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 50

Mrs. Marianne Clayton
Officer, Competition & State Aid Directorate
Tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 23

6 April 2006

[1]              OJ C 54, 4.3.2006, p.13.

Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS