Browse by year:


Sven Erik Svedman new President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority



Today, Mr. Sven Erik Svedman has taken up his position as President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority.

Mr. Svedman has served as State Secretary, Secretary General and Director General for Europe in the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He was Ambassador to Germany (2007–2014), to France (2003–2005) and to Israel (1994–1997). Now, leaving the position as Chief Economist at the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he succeeds Ms. Oda Helen Sletnes as President of the Authority.

The Governments of the EFTA States have appointed Mr. Svedman for the period 1 September 2015 to 31 December 2017.


For further information, please contact:

Mr. Andreas Kjeldsberg Pihl
Press & Information Officer
tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 66
mob. (+32)(0)492 900 187

Other EEA Institutions

Want to help us improve our website?

We are in the process of designing a new website and need your help!

We kindly ask you to participate in a short exercise which will help us improve your experience of the ESA website.

This website is built with Eplica CMS