Browse by year:


Sven Erik Svedman sworn in as President of the EFTA Surveillance Authority



Today, Mr. Sven Erik Svedman took the oath of office as College Member and President of the EFTA Surveillance Auhtority.

The formal ceremony took place in the EFTA Court in Luxembourg.

The EFTA Surveillance Authority and the EFTA Court are two separate institutions with different roles:

  • The EFTA Surveillance Authority monitors that Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway respect their obligations under the EEA Agreement, in the same way that the EU Member States are supervised by the European Commission.

  • The EFTA Court fulfils the judicial function of interpreting the EEA Agreement with regard to Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, and its jurisdiction largely corresponds to the jurisdiction of the Court of Justice of the European Union over EU law.

The College of the EFTA Surveillance Authority is the Authority's decision-making body, consisting of three members. Although appointed by the EFTA States, the College Members undertake their functions independently and free of political direction.

At present, the College consists of President Sven Erik Svedman, Ms. Helga Jónsdóttir and Mr. Frank J. Büchel.


For further information, please contact:

Mr. Andreas Kjeldsberg Pihl
Press & Information Officer
tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 66
mob. (+32)(0)492 900 187


Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS