Browse by year:

State Aid

State Aid: The Authority greenlights the Norwegian regional aid map for 2014–2020



The EFTA Surveillance Authority has today approved the new map of areas eligible for regional investment aid proposed by the Norwegian Government.

The map is defined with reference to the new State Aid Guidelines on regional state aid 2014–2020. The map has been authorized for the period of 1 July 2014 to 31 December 2020.

The areas in Norway that qualify for regional investment aid cover 25.48% of the total population.

The counties of Finnmark, Troms, Nordland and Sogn og Fjordane are eligible in their entirety. Moreover, parts of the counties of Nord-Trøndelag, Sør-Trøndelag, Møre og Romsdal, Hordaland, Rogaland, Vest-Agder, Aust-Agder, Telemark, Buskerud, Oppland, Hedmark and Østfold are also included in the map of eligible areas to receive regional investment aid.

Areas that are not included in the map cannot benefit from regional aid. A more detailed overview of the geographical scope of the areas eligible for regional investment aid  is included in the Authority's decision and the map annexed to it.

Aid can be granted up to 15% of investment costs for large enterprises, with possible top-ups of 10% for medium-sized enterprises and 20% for small enterprises.

Today's approval of the regional aid map is not an authorization of aid measures as such.


For further information, please contact:

Mr. Andreas Kjeldsberg Pihl
Press & Information Officer
tel. (+32)(0)2 286 18 66
mob. (+32)(0)492 900 187


Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS