Browse by year:

State Aid

State Aid: ESA re-approves regional aid scheme rule in Norway



EN | NO 

The EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) has today re-approved an exemption rule in the Norwegian scheme on differentiated social security contributions. ESA has re-assessed this rule after the EFTA Court annulled a part of the ESA approval of the scheme from June 2014.

“ESA has done what the EFTA Court asked and re-evaluated one part of the scheme. Our conclusion remains the same,” says ESA President Sven Erik Svedman.

Norway's system of differentiated social security contributions grants a reduction in the compulsory contribution for employers in certain remote areas. This way, the Norwegian Government aims to reduce or prevent depopulation in the least inhabited regions of the country.

In general, companies are entitled to this reduction only if they are registered in one of these remote areas. However, under an exemption rule companies registered elsewhere may also be granted a reduced rate to the extent that their employees carry out work in an eligible area.

The Norwegian company Kimek Offshore AS brought ESA in front of the EFTA Court over the exemption rule in December 2014, and ESA re-assessed this part of the scheme following the Court's ruling in September 2015.

Today, ESA concludes again that the exemption rule is compatible with the functioning of the EEA Agreement. The rule is therefore authorised.

Read the decision here.

For further information, please contact:

Ms. Anne Vestbakke
Head of Communications
tel. +32 2 286 18 66
mob. +32 490 57 63 53

Other EEA Institutions

This website is built with Eplica CMS